Leadership Team

TagVault.org is a non-profit organization formed under IEEE-ISTO and run by a board of directors, as specified by the organization’s bylaws. Read on for biographies for each board member.

TagVault.org Chairman

Microsoft – Michael Godsey

Senior Architect for the Product Release and Security Services Organization

Michael Godsey has been working in various roles in the aerospace and commercial software industries for the past 33 years, most recently with Microsoft Corporation since 1995.   He currently serves as a Service Architect for the Product Release and Security Services organization, and is chartered with designing next generation service architecture for internal systems which control the release and distribution of all Microsoft product binaries.   He is an active member of ISO SC7/WG21 work group focused on IT asset management, and has been actively involved in SWID Tags since 2011, working internally on driving awareness, ensuring operational consistency in implementation, and revision to the 19770-2 standard.  He is currently working to  architect future centralized services to ensure SWID tags produced by Microsoft conform to ISO 19770-2 as well as contain needed capabilities and related services  to help ease adoption by enterprise and government agencies.

MITRE Corporation – David L. Morse

Senior Cybersecurity Engineer

David L. Morse is a Senior Cybersecurity Engineer at The MITRE Corporation, based in McLean, Virginia. Since joining MITRE in 2014, Dave has supported sponsors on projects ranging from implementing threat intelligence sharing to architechting enterprise cyber strategy. Currently he is supporting multiple US Government efforts for MITRE, including leading activities intended to raise awareness and promote adoption of software identification tags in the marketplace.

Before joining MITRE, Dave supervised network construction projects, taught technology courses and conducted seminars nationwide on network design and construction. He is a retired Master Sergeant and served in the Army Reserve as a Senior Instructor and First Sergeant. Dave holds a B.A. in Philosophy from Drew University, a B.A. in Information Computer Sciences from the University of Hawaii, and an M.B.A. in Information Systems from City University of Seattle.


IBM – Robert J. McDonald

Vice President, Software Asset Management

robert-mcdonald-2Robert (Bob) McDonald is Vice President, Software Asset Management, IBM Software Group. In this role, Bob leads a new area of focus to ensure the IBM Client Experience with Software Li-cense Management meets the IBM client business requirements. Additionally, Bob is responsible for the Global Skills Initiative project aimed at transforming IBM’s worldwide education model for both IBM Software Group and Systems Group. Leveraging IBM’s Global Training Partners, the new IBM Training model will increase skills in the marketplace for all IBM software and hardware solutions.

Mr. McDonald joined IBM in 1990. Most recently he was the Vice President of Lab Services for the Collaboration Solutions Division of IBM Software Group. Bob has diverse experience with the business having led the Lotus Worldwide Technical Support organization, the Critical Situations and Support Account Management teams, and in Development, the ISV Enablement and User Design organizations. His focus, throughout his career, has been engaging with customers to ensure their success with the deployment and adoption of their investment in IBM software.

A passion of Mr. McDonald’s is mentoring the next generation of IBMers. He is well respected for his enthusiasm in showing the benefits of a career at IBM with new employees or university students. Mr. McDonald is also the Senior Location Executive for the IBM Mass Lab in Littleton, Massachusetts, which is the largest Software Development lab for IBM in North America.

Symantec – Tim Willey

Sr. Director, Licensing Strategies

Tim Willey V2Tim Willey is responsible for managing Pricing and Licensing Strategy, Policy and Programs at Symantec.  This includes developing Symantec’s In-product Licensing strategy, as well as Software Asset Tagging strategy.

Most recently, Tim has developed a simplified approach to Pricing and Licensing for Symantec, which is designed to significantly reduce the volume of SKUs and price-points which are published through the sales channels.  Prior to this, Tim helped to set-up and establish the global Office of Pricing and Licensing, to co-ordinate and drive new Pricing and Licensing approaches, designed to improve ease of doing business for Customers and Partners.

Before joining Symantec, Tim was a Director in the Corporate Strategy practice at Deloitte in London, where he worked with leading Technology, Telecoms and Media companies to drive profitable growth strategies.  This included helping global organizations tackle strategic challenges across Europe, Asia and the US.

Tim graduated top in his year with a B.Sc. in Economics from Nottingham University (one of the top 3 Universities for Economics in the UK).


TagVault.org – Steve Klos

Executive Director

SteveK 200x200 squareSteve was the convener the ISO/IEC 19770-2:2009 draft focused on software identification (SWID) tags.  Based on his work on the development of the SWID tag standard and his extensive background in all aspects of Software Asset Management, Steve became the executive director of TagVault.org – the registration and certification authority for ISO/IEC 19770-2:2009 software identification tags and the organization providing tools, services and specialized knowledge for software identification tags to the SAM ecosystem.

Steve co-founded Agnitio Advisors, a company focused on developing, evaluating and improving software asset management policies and procedures.  He also co-founded ManageSoft Corporation, a leading provider of desktop, security and software asset management tools and services.

Steve is the recipient of multiple industry certifications in Software Asset Management and has been privileged to become an IAITAM Fellow.  Steve is a certified instructor for SAM training classes and has presented at many conferences including CA World, Gartner, IAITAM, and SoftSummit.

See Steve’s LinkedIn Profile.

IEEE-ISTO – Jane Celusak

Program Manager & Board Secretariat

jane-celusak-head-shotJane Celusak is a program manager supporting industry consortia on behalf of IEEE-ISTO including TagVault.org.  Jane works closely with the Tagvault.org board leadership team to develop new initiatives to support the strategic direction of the organization and acts as a liaison between the program and other IEEE-SA support functions.

Jane has over 20 years experience in business and organizational development and customer and foundation relationship management.  She has an MA in Public Policy and International Affairs.